Do you have a collector car older than you?

michel88

I was wondering if many forum members have collector cars older than they are, and the reasons they have them. I have a 1940 Buick Roadmaster Coupe that was built before I was born (1944). The reason I have interest is probably because my Dad bought a new 1940 Buick Super Coupe. Being a frugal and practical man he kept it until 1951, so I have happy childhood memories of it. I hope older cars are still being collected by future generations.

I would expect three quarters of all AACA members at a minimum can respond in the affirmative on this. I include myself currently with three cars older than my birth year; the oldest by 13 years, a 1934 Terraplane convertible coupe because I admire the styling and engineering. And I'm looking at a 1912........

Guest D1933
I was wondering if many forum members have collector cars older than they are, and the reasons they have them. I have a 1940 Buick Roadmaster Coupe that was built before I was born (1944). The reason I have interest is probably because my Dad bought a new 1940 Buick Super Coupe. Being a frugal and practical man he kept it until 1951, so I have happy childhood memories of it. I hope older cars are still being collected by future generations.

My Dad left me his 1933 ford pickup. He bought it before I was born. In my lifetime I remember it running once. I was born in 1971 in case you wanted to know.

Almost every one of mine are older than me ('47), 1904 Cad, '11 Brush, '26, '27 and 29 Fords. Exception is a '62 Vette that I got for pure speed and because it was the last of the solid axel versions. The Cad and Brush were compliments of my neighbor who got me interested in old cars at a very early age. Got the '26 Ford for sentimental reasons. Dad's birth year and he learned how to drive in one on Montana country roads. We all have our reasons, and at my age I am running out of reasons to bring more home.

Keep them original, and good luck!

Guest Old48Truck