Off normal topic.... to possible careers

Graham Man

I am pretty sure most of us here love cars, some of us love history, most of us are mechanically inclined...

I have reached a crossroads in my career, and it leaves me at a unique opportunity in my life, what to do next?  I have been an engineer in several rolls, project, mechanical, quality, what ever my several companies have needed.  I think over 25 years, I have been fairly successful.  Thorough a strange turn of events, I am job searching, and was curious what careers some of you had pursued?  

I was toying with the idea of starting antique auto upholstery business (pre 1940), since they seem to have completely disappeared.

‘Find something you love to do and you’ll never have to work a day in your life.’

• Like 5

I'll never forget this conversation that took place 20 years ago, a guy was thinking about starting a butcher shop in town. He was a shirt and tie guy, and maybe carving the Thanksgiving turkey was his carving limit. He was really depressed when he found out what a qualified experienced butcher needed to be paid. Auto upholstery is the last big expense in a restoration and most car owners are out of money by then. Top shelf work needs to be paid for, maybe the closed shops just got tired of the fight. 

• Like 3
  • Thanks 1

I suspect one of the most serious problems is sourcing correct fabric, and other materials . Early cars use leather on the seats themselves in many / most cases. But there is a vast array of non leather coverings , trims, under layers used as well. 

Once you get new enough to be in the fabric era the variations are endless.

• Like 1

How much (hands-on) experience you have with “antique auto upholstery” ?
Are you intending to focus on “authentic” restoration of (pre 1940 ?) interiors or just do whatever the customers want you ?

How large is your expected (local ?) customer base for the type of service you’re intending to provide ?

Etc, etc, etc,…