What was the biggest mistake you made,auto wise?

my65riv

They say hindsight is 20/20 and we should learn from other people's mistakes so just what is your biggest mistake you have made in the auto hobby?My personal one was not buying a 1957 Lincolin MkII that was a steal of a price.I bought a 1960 Cadillac instead.for the money i sunk into the caddy i could have finished the Mk II WITH ALOT LEFT OVER.Oh well.

Jeff Mealer

Mt. Juliet,TN.

Guest ZondaC12

Well so far I would have to say jacking up the rear end of the '38 with the front end on ramps, resulting in the front wheels rolling off the ramps, sending the car into the middle garage door! shocked.gif It bowed it out like 3-4" and it had to be replaced. Mom was not pleased to say the least.

Granted thats not the kind of mistake this thread is probably talking about, but I guess I'm fortunate in that it's as bad as it's gotten for me so far!!! I'm far too young and I have 2 years' experience in the hobby, and with a daily vehicle and the Buick in my possession, the money I spend on them is plenty, not to mention the universal issue of space, so I'm not exactly in a position to acquire anything else right now.

I soak these stories up like a sponge, and I couldnt even try to count how many I've heard in just two years! I pay close attention so that maybe someday I might not have too many "the one that got away" stories to tell. The stories have truly scared me enough by now that I have an absolute death-grip on both of the cars I have right now, and it won't ever let up.

Guest Skyking

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: ZondaC12</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Well so far I would have to say jacking up the rear end of the '38 with the front end on ramps, resulting in the front wheels rolling off the ramps, sending the car into the middle garage door!

</div></div>