1939 Roadmaster Phaeton -Surprised by Sale

kingrudy

https://www.mecum.com/lots/FL0122-487209/1939-buick-roadmaster-series-80-sport-phaeton/

I follow the Mecum auctions and for the most part I am surprised by the price of many cars, but this one shocked me. I do not own an 1939 Buicks, but know people who do. The sale price of this car sure seems low to me. Any thoughts?

• Like 1

I have a 1937 Roadmaster Converible Phaeton. I have no personal experience with 1939s. From what I see in the photos, I would say that condition is decent but not excellent. The top appears to need to be replaced. I did not see any engine comparment photos, so would wonder what it looked like under the hood. These 80 Series Phaetons are impressive cars but they are not everybody's cup of tea. I too would be interested in what it sold for. 

https://www.mecum.com/lots/FL0122-487209/1939-buick-roadmaster-series-80-sport-phaeton/

I follow the Mecum auctions and for the most part I am surprised by the price of many cars, but this one shocked me. I do not own an 1939 Buicks, but know people who do. The sale price of this car sure seems low to me. Any thoughts?

That was certainly cheap. I would think that is an unusual situation for it to go that cheap. I have seen cars that had a dead battery and would not start to go through an auction and they sold for stupid cheap money just because the owner or auction house was too cheap to put a battery in it, or in too much of a rush to jump start the car. Maybe it would not run... who knows? Sometimes auctions go crazy high and sometimes they go crazy low.

• Like 1

14 minutes ago, Matt Harwood said:

Sale price was $24,200, which means the final bid was $22,000. Shockingly cheap.

At a well publicized auction......that IS all the money.

Sure got a lot of value for their money.

• Like 5

Remember, 2 or 3 years ago, forum member Dynaflash8

was selling his carefully restored 1939 Buick Special phaeton.