Need advice on old cars inherited

Freon

Hey guys,

My dad inherited some old cars and he asked me to sell them for him.One is a 1958 Triumph TR3 and the other is a 1929 REO.Nether have had any restoration done to them but have been in storage sense the 70s.The tr3 has no visible rust and seems to be complete with no alterations.The RIO has significant rust in some places and nearly complete.My biggest issue is I’m just a tractor tech and I have no idea what these cars are worth to someone wanting to restore them.If anyone can help me figure out a realistic base value for them or point me in the right direction in doing so I would greatly appreciate it.

The good news is that you've reached the right place to get some excellent answers to your question.  The regulars here are very sharp, very knowledgeable, and always happy to help. 

The less good news is that you may end up disappointed with how much you and your father might be able to get for the cars.  It's common for people to think old cars are worth more than they are -- especially non-running cars needing everything.   But at least the people on this forum can fill you in on how the market for these cars tends to work and what you can reasonably expect.

• Like 1

The Reo may be a '28.  The '29 had smooth fenders, not the "double crown". I had a '29 Reo coupe many years ago. They are fine driving cars, unusually good performance and handling for the late '20s, however with a limited following. That one would cost more to restore than it would be worth finished. I would actually like to have another Reo. But I have reached the point where I do NOT need to take on any significant projects.

Hopefully you can find someone with a good interest and a desire to do a restoration. I would love to see that car done!

If the REO were mine, Ild list it on ebay at 999. and see if I got any bids. The cost is minimal and if there are no bids, shouldnt be a cost at all.