New Member With Questions About Antique Car Sale

DrumBob

Hello everyone. I have been a fan of early 50's American cars all my life and am finally getting into a position where I can buy one soon. Being a novice, I have questions. I have found two 1950 Oldsmobile Rocket 88's in the Nashville area. I found them on a muscle car website, and wonder whether they are scams or not. Both cars are priced quite low and seem to be in spectacular condition. The terms of sale are the same; they sell you the car and deliver it, and you have a period of time to have it inspected by a mechanic to determine if you want to keep it, or get a refund. In one case, the seller purports to be an older lady whose husband passed away. In another, it appears the seller may be a dealer, but I'm not sure, because he hasn't provided a name or phone number. The lady seller hasn't provided a phone number either, but said the car is located at a shipping service in Indiana. The prices of both cars is very reasonable, even very low, which is a red flag. The other red flag is, the terms seem too good to be true; take delivery and you can return it for a refund if you are not happy.

I'm hesitant to send someone several thousand dollars if I'm unsure whether or not these are scams. Do scams like this exist in the world of antique car sales, and how should I handle this going forward? Any help is appreciated. Thanks. 

Edited by DrumBob (see edit history)
  • Like 1

Nobody will ever give you a car, ship it to you at their own expense, let you sit on it for a few weeks, then ship it back if you're not satisfied. NOBODY. That's pure lunacy--the old car world isn't Amazon.com.

If it seems too good to be true...

• Like 9

1950 Oldsmobile 88 Deluxe

4dr Sedan

8-cyl. 303.7cid/135hp 2bbl

#3 Good

$10,000*

+5.3%
 NEVER,NEVER buy a car  without inspecting it personally

• Like 2

I agree with the others above:  These are not legitimate

sellers.  The cars may not even exist.  If any pictures exist,