Checker Cab

victorialynn2

Well, last night I was out for an evening with friends and had a few drinks. Don't judge... short week... it ends in pie and shopping anyhow 😁. Knowing full well I may have been slightly over the limit, I took a cab home (I know... old school, but the cab was right there). Sure enough, I passed a police roadblock, but since it was a cab, they waved it past.

I got home safely and without incident, which is a real surprise, as I have never driven a cab before and am not sure where I got it, or what to do with it now that it's in my garage. 🤔 Happy Thanksgiving y'all, have a great week! 🦃

39ED9F3A-4A75-46A1-9764-7E06A52D3A05.jpeg

• Like 5
  • Thanks 1
  • Haha 11

When I was a delivery driver for my long term employer when I was just starting out in the 70's one of the delivery vehicles was a Checker.  A 1969 and later a 76.  Talk about Army tanks!  350 chevy v-8's automatic and a load capacity of a ton.  We would load it up and off to downtown Chicago I went.  The cabdrivers reputation helped me as no one messed  with the Checker.  Reliable and each one lasted  at least 200,000 miles.    When the 76 was replaced with a VW Rabbit Diesel for "fuel economy"  the Rabbit was just not up to the job. I am glad I had the chance to drive one.

• Like 1

I knew of a man who owned a Checker (non taxi) several years ago. One morning his travels took him near a downtown Lexington KY hotel. As he was sitting at a traffic light a woman ran up to the back door, hopped in and told him to take her to the airport. Having nothing else to do he said o.k. and headed for the airport about five miles away. A couple of minutes later the woman looked around and realized that she was not riding in a taxi. The driver assured her that he would indeed take her to the airport and did just that. He always said that the story was worth the effort to get her to her destination. Zeke

• Like 1
  • Haha 2

On 11/27/2019 at 1:55 PM, 46 woodie said: