Wading into the scary world of vintage cars

surfgeek

Hello, I'm new to the forum.  I've always liked Rivieras and I'm starting to seriously think about acquiring one.  I'm far from a expert, in fact I've never owned a classic car but always wanted to so I'm just trying to figure out what kind of things to look for before diving in so I don't get scammed.   Although I'm partial to boat tails (especially 71-72), a quick craigslist search in my area found a bunch of very tempting first gens.  Can anybody shed some light on these or point out any red flags they see?  I'm trying to avoid being the proverbial fool that is soon separated from his money.  Thanks in advance.  

https://tampa.craigslist.org/pnl/cto/d/1964-buick-riviera-wildcat/6571846995.html

https://miami.craigslist.org/brw/cto/d/1964-buick-riviera-465/6566418982.html

https://tampa.craigslist.org/pnl/cto/d/1964-buick-riviera/6557305298.html

https://tampa.craigslist.org/psc/cto/d/1963-buick-rivera/6562398432.html

Welcome to the forum !

The '63-'65 Riviera are the true classics, with '63 being the first model year of the Buick Riviera.

The '65 is usually more favoured because of the 'clam shell' hidden headlights, and it is the last year of first generation cars.

Check out the Riviera Owners Association web site for additional information on these great cars.

Edited by 68RIVGS (see edit history)

Stay away from the 2nd and 3rd links. The 2nd link has previous significant collision repair which was not well done and the 3rd has extensive rust repair, also not well done.

It might be wise to post a little more about yourself to recommend a good fit for you. For instance, do you know the basic features of each year? If not, probably best to narrow your search to a specific year or two based on your priorities.

Are you handy? Do you have an automotive repair background? In other words, are you looking for a ready to go turn key car or are you interested in some degree of restoration on your part?