How did Flathead Motors Hang on So Long?

B Jake Moran

As some of you know, I am looking for a project vehicle (yes, still looking) to restore with a young friend.  Not many, but a couple of my saved vehicles are Flatheads.  One is a 1947 Studebaker Coupe Express truck with a small flathead 6.  

That got me thinking about why Flatheads stuck around so long even when the trend was toward OHV engines, and OHV engines, especially at Buick, had been around so long.  

I have never worked on a Flathead.  I have owned a few, but never opened them up.  Should I avoid them since I have no experience rebuilding them?  

Packard had a Flathead through 1954.
Kaiser used the Continental based 6 through 1955

Hudson through 1954. 
Ford through 1953. 

• Like 3

Flatheads were cheap to build, reliable, and simple to work on and for the most part, they got the job done. Retooling for overhead valves was expensive and convincing the general car-buying public (cars like low-cost Plymouths, for example) that overhead valves were superior and worth the extra money was a bit of an uphill battle. It wasn't until highways started to become a real transportation option in the early 1950s that higher speeds were necessary and it was at higher speeds that the flatheads had trouble keeping up.

Just think about how long and loud this group here biatched and moaned about, say, the loss of the venerable pushrod GM 3800 V6 when it was replaced by overhead cam engines. An important step forward but one that few people appreciated or understood, and they certainly were not happy about paying extra for a replacement they didn't respect. Same thing.

• Like 10
  • Thanks 3