Why you don’t buy a Ferrari after retirement.

I had the same experience as John at the NY Auto Show . It was on Press Day for journalists and I recall several people telling others to " hey look what Walt is doing!"  as they knew of my interest in older automobiles. The late journalists Carlos Escodero and Joe Oldham both were chuckling and forever after reminded me of that.

• Like 1

About 40 years ago I worked as a mechanic at the Volvo/Saab/Triumph dealership that belonged to the late Ted Leonard (he of Gatsby RR note). I worked with a gentleman named Don Dugal whose regular job was prepping the traded in used cars. Don was a great mechanic and I owe him a lot...I'll always remember him looking over his glasses at me and saying "try the simple things first"! In any case, Don had a reputation for being able to tune difficult cars. The Northeast Volvo Rep, Lars, had his Ferrari sent up on a flatbed for Don to tune. If I remember correctly, it was a 1957 or 58 and I've no idea what model. Don worked with it all afternoon and, near the end of the day handed me the keys and told me to take it for a test drive. "Me" I said. Once more he looked over his glasses and reminded me "I'm 6'4" tall...I can't even get in it."

I never got it out of 3rd...

Edited by JV Puleo (see edit history)
  • Like 1
  • Haha 2

Two friends have Z06 Corvettes. I can barely get in and out of passenger side. If I ever got into the driver's seat I'd be like the guy in the video.

Around 15 years ago even GM F bodies were proving troublesome to get in and out of. I have always tried to carry myself a little gracefully but that got near impossible in TransAMs.