Idle Curiosity about the Lincoln V12

Peter S

The last of the vintage Lincoln V-12's was a very different animal than the earlier V-12's.  The early ones were built for very exclusive clientele, the later ones were not.  I am not an expert on these engines, nor would I rebuild any of them for someone else.  It may be a good idea to clarify your question.

Fair comment. I've had some interest in a 1941 V12 that I believe is out of a Zephyr. It isn't running and I presume it needs a full rebuild. I'm wondering about the availability of parts - are these engines rare and is there much interchangeability with the 8's? Also interested in whether there is anything very special about them rather than just more cylinders? 

Peter s.

The Zephyr came out for the 1936 model year.  Here is a

quote from The Lincoln Motorcar:  Sixty Years of Excellence

by Thomas Bonsall:

"The engine was the main reason the Zephyr acquired a

checkered reputation.  Many owners and latter-day automotive

writers came to regard it as a bad engine, a real botch job.

It was not.  What it was was underdeveloped.  Ford engineers

simply did not do an adequate job of refining it for production.

The earliest engines were especially troublesome.  Some of the 

early troubles were eventually corrected, but some of the

flaws never were.  Crankcase ventilation was the most serious

chronic problem.  Due to the design, sludge was easily formed

in engines subjected to a lot of low speed driving.  It was really

a high speed engine, and owners who used their cars primarily

in urban driving and did not maintain them meticulously had

trouble.  Another serious problem was the inherently poor

lubrication of the engine. ... The fact remains, however, that

in the hands of a careful, meticulous owner, the Zephyr V-12

was a tough, dependable and economical powerplant."

I hope this gives you a good perspective on your prospective buy.

Edited by John_S_in_Penna (see edit history)