This is accurate

I have a lot of PhDs in my family...this Pyramid is upside down (except for the carburetor experts) .

Most PhDs see life through the soda straw of their very specialized education. When I was a kid we owned a small boat with another guy from my father's work. He was a PhD in Mechanical Engineering. He never could get the outboard to start... my father had to help him. 

• Like 4

• 4 weeks later...

Not so sure about intellect.

The tiny (and growing smaller) volume at the top is reflective of the fact that those of us in this category are mostly old geezers, that were born with good genes, took care of our bodies, and out-lived our contemporaries.

It would be an interesting picture to show at reunions except for the blank stares, and the question "What is a carburetor"?

You can probably group those that can change a phonograph needle in the same category!

Jon

• Like 1
  • Haha 2

On 10/26/2023 at 10:39 AM, Leif in Calif said:

I have a lot of PhDs in my family...this Pyramid is upside down (except for the carburetor experts) .

Most PhDs see life through the soda straw of their very specialized education. When I was a kid we owned a small boat with another guy from my father's work. He was a PhD in Mechanical Engineering. He never could get the outboard to start... my father had to help him. 

I had a relative that worked as an engineer for one of the major airplane manufacturers. He could look at a preliminary drawing and tell you if a plane could fly, but as a five-year-old, I had to help him with a Gilbert Erector set model.

Jon

• Like 1
  • Haha 2

1 hour ago, carbking said:

You can probably group those that can change a phonograph needle in the same category!

Even without an advanced degree I can change out a stylus; yea, even a complete cartridge. Provided I can find one, that is!

It's just as aggravating to find old phonograph and turntable parts as it is to find old car parts.

• Like 1