Speaking of Ebay I Just Got My 1099K and It's Not Correct

leomara

I know this requirement was pushed back until 2023 but it you received a statement you better be able to verify it.  I'm a low volume seller so in one month I had only 4 transactions.  I keep meticulous records for sale amount, postage received and spent and Ebay fees.  There is no way I can jumble the numbers from those 4 sales to match what Ebay has reported to the IRS.  I fear they have overstated my income by hundreds of dollars if not more.  I spoke to an Ebay representative and they advised me to prepare detailed documentation and send it to them so they can review and make corrections if needed.  This is absurd that I should spend my time assisting Ebay in correcting their errors.  

• Like 4
  • Thanks 3

I'll buy on ebay but I don't sell any longer. The effort is too great. My relatives have had success on Mercari but I have no experience with it. Most stuff I have to sell isn't worth the effort so it's easier to just donate it.

Edited by Golden73 (see edit history)
  • Like 4

Thank you rocketraider, there are many members of the AACA who sell on Ebay and that is why I post Ebay issues here.  What I've since discovered is Ebay has reported my "income" as price of item sold plus postage received.  They do include postage paid to ship or their fees in the equation.  Consequently, the "net" I must figure myself.  Please take note but verify your own 1099K accordingly.

• Like 1

Then take it up with Steve, Peter and West, and while you're about it have them strip me of the few moderation powers I have left.

If you aren't a current AACA member, seems to me your outrage is slightly misplaced.

Now that the thread has been completely derailed, maybe it should be closed. I personally view leomara's situation as a cautionary tale.

• Like 4
  • Thanks 2

1 hour ago, leomara said: