Photos of Mercer Raceabout

Moxis

Hello, I am a retired electronics engineer living in Finland. My hobby is car model building. A few years ago I was building a very detailed 1/6 scale model of a Bugatti 35 all from scratch. Now that I am searching new project, I would like to build a model of 1912 Mercier Raceabout in the same 1/6 scale including as much details as possible.
This is why I am searching companies or individuals to be able to help me to find  detail photographs of this wonderful car.
If you are not able to help me, I would be very glad if you could inform me where to ask further.

Thank you 1935Packard! Good quality pictures indeed. Those are very valuable for model building, but still I would like to have closeups of different parts of the vehicle to disclose the smallest details.

• Like 1

I may be able to help. About 2 years ago I visited the Pertersen Auto Museum in Los Angeles. They had on display an all-original, never restored 1913 Mercer Raceabout.  It was behind ropes, so I couldn't get real close, but I did take 70 pictures of the car (I want to build a similar raceabout body for my own speedster).  

You can access these photos via the link below. They are on my Google Drive. I made the photos public so you (or anyone else) can download them. 

I'll keep the link public for a couple of weeks.

Hope this is useful.

The link:

https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1zWMHjL0Vlkqt_2USnQvCjhUx4gkVayHO?usp=sharing

• Like 2

Hudson Miniatures made a balsa model kit of a Mercer Raceabout in the 1950s. Attached are the plans if you don't already have them. The car is shown as a 1911 but I think it is based on Jack Fetterolf's 1913 car shown in this thread here:

https://forums.aaca.org/topic/341211-period-images-to-relieve-some-of-the-stress/page/21/?tab=comments#comment-2015924

There is some footage of a Mercer in this film of the 1954 Anglo-American Vintage Car Rally. It's referred to as a 1921 but I think it should be a 1912: