direction of spin

jeff53

I am no mechanic- so please excuse the question ,it may sound foolish to some... I have an inline 8, the last time I started the car up it looked like the fan started in the wrong direction and when it stopped it was spinning in the correct direction. Now the car won't even turn over. I started it several months ago because of the cold. It has a push button starter. I have checked connections/battery ect... I'm trying to avoid pulling the starter because it would mean doing stuff my back no longer agrees with... Is there a way to bypass the starter?-- Many moons ago, I used to be able run along side and do what was   called a push start.. but can't do that now because our driveway is downhill- if I doesn't start there's no getting back in the garage. Again it's a 6 volt - inline 8 ( GM) Ponty.  was last running about 4  months ago. Friends have said that starting it up for short burst/runs was bad for it. So it idled for about an hour and that was the last time I tested it.

If you take all the spark plug out you should be able to turn it over by hand using the fan belt or water pump as a place to grip.  I would say a wrench or breaker bar on the harmonic balancer but your body may not go for that.  

The fan thing was an optical illusion. Do you have fluorescent lights in your garage? You can bypass the starter button it is called hot wiring the car. You can make the starter turn with a screwdriver or a remote starter switch that clips on. If the engine turns over but does not start, most likely it is not getting gas or not getting spark. To check the first look down the carb and pump the gas you should see a squirt of gas and smell it. To check the ignition disconnect a spark plug wire, connect a spare plug ground it to the motor and see if you get a spark when you turn the engine over with the key.

• Like 2

2 minutes ago, padgett said:

Dunno what triples (like PT Boats) used.