Henry Ford Museum scrapped some cars for the war in 1942?

md murray

Was just reading a wiki article on Aloha Baker and it mentioned that the "Little Lizzie" Model T she drove around the world and donated to the Henry Ford Museum was scrapped along 50 other cars in 1942 for the war effort. A link to another article shows a letter written to Ms. Baker by the curator of the transportation collections of the museum in 1979 explaining that Mr Ford had ordered vehicles that he deemed of "marginal historical importance" to be transferred to the highland park plant and scrapped. Anybody ever heard of this? Hopefully Henry didn't scrap anything earlier than this car. 

f.jpg

A great example of why I would NEVER leave anything valuable to a museum unless there was a clear, ironclad contract that provided for display and, should it be deemed redundant, it would be returned.  I have a lot of experience dealing with them in my everyday life and have found most (and there are exceptions) "museum professionals" far more interested in advancing their own agendas than in the artifacts.

Edited by JV Puleo (see edit history)
  • Like 5

No education at all on this topic, but heres my 2c.  Its a shame a 'historically significant' car was sent to the scrap yard, however in this case it was for a scrap drive for the war effort.  I would imagine one of the richest people in the country, and also one perhaps getting richer with government war contracts, would look pretty silly/self absorbed, by not 'thinning' the collection of some 'old cars' that he had sitting around. During a time when the average working person had to scrimp and save, and scrap unused pots and pans!