Strange charging issue 1940 buick

Robby120113

Hi guys. 

normally while driving the amp meter needles was just right of the centre in the plus. When i turned on my lights it jumped to minus and directly to plus again and was steady the whole way.  
but suddenly the needles is very jumpy and restless. While driving also a lot of the time in the minus and i can see my headlights dim. So scared of running dry. Today i had the generator testen and was top notch. Then in the testing machine we hooked about the voltage regulator and all values were great. So cleaned the connector and added a extra ground and did a test today. But still the same issue. Where do i need to look now. Regulator is new btw. 

thanks for all the help

I'm not very good at understanding the mysteries of electricity, but it looks to me like you have an intermittent short somewhere in your system.  Does your car still have the original wiring?  If so, there may be an exposed wire somewhere that is intermittently grounding as it rubs against a metal surface in the body or frame.  The old insulation on the original wiring basically turns to powder after many years and will flake off leaving large areas of wire exposed.  Somewhere under the dash is where this is likely happening, but it could also be under the hood or just about anywhere where there's a positive wire that could be rubbing against the metal of the frame or body (like to the headlights, parking lights, tail lights, etc.).   Hopefully, someone more electrically-minded than me can help you diagnose and find this problem.

• Like 1