1953 Buick Special Won’t start

oscarh53

HELP 

I drive a 1953 Buick Special with a straight 8 engine. Woke up this morning to my car not being able to start, I’m thinking I may have drowned the carburetor. I cranked it a couple times but the engine stopped turning and the Started began to click on me. I’m not a mechanic but I’m trying my best to learn everything , if anyone knows what I could do that’s be great thanks! :)

Edited by oscarh53
Misspelled (see edit history)

Make sure the battery is fully charged. By then, the carb should have dried out some. try to keep from flooding it after you get the battery charged. I've learned a lot from the guys on this forum. Post some pics of your car for all to see. Good luck !

In my opinion, if you want to be sure the battery is fine and not the cause of any issues, then disconnect the cables, clean both posts, and put the battery on slow charge overnight. Then, since you probably don't have the equipment to draw down the battery under a load, and see how fast it recovers, just take it (fully charged) to your local auto parts store and have them test if for you. If your battery is in any condition less than perfect, you would be wise to replace it first thing. Then, as you begin to diagnose other potential issues, you'll know the battery is not the source of your problem. 

Sherlock Holmes was famous for using the deduction method of solving questions. In other words, by verifying what was NOT the problem (one issue at a time), he was eventually left with only the one thing which was the correct solution to the problem. That is exactly the way I like to solve hard-starting issues on old cars. 

Good luck to you, and keep us posted. 

Edited by lump (see edit history)
  • Like 2

Do FLAPS have 6 volt ranges on their testers? Call ahead and confirm. The 53 Special is the last 6 volt Buick model. The V-8s that year were the first Buick 12 volt systems. 

Edited by Frank DuVal (see edit history)