Wyoming raising fees

What is the annual registration fee for a regular plate? In the grand scheme of things $10k annual revenue is piddling and will prob get eaten up in administrating the new regulations. Not worth the effort, really.

It's foolish to not carry liability insurance on any vehicle.

I would ask the state legislator sponsoring this legislation and the complaining LEO "why not enforce the laws already in place?". If someone's trying to game the system I have no problem with them getting a ticket for misuse of plates with a hefty fine and surrender of the plate in question.

• Like 4

As a former Wyoming resident, I didn't even know about the antique plates or the insurance loophole.  In Alabama where I live now, you must have insurance on everything but can get the antique plates for a 1 time fee of $50 or so.  I just get YOM plates for my antique cars though.  I do have to renew every year, but YOM plates look a bit nicer.  

• Like 1

For people to register any vehicle to avoid having liability insurance is idiocy and those people should be sued to the last penny they ever had.   And it will happen,  ever notice all the lawyer commercials on TV?   We are all targets every time we drive our antique cars and cause an accident.  Saving a few bucks by not buying insurance does not exempt anyone from financial liability.  Being stupid is not a valid defense.

View from a former Insurance Investigator, Adjuster, Agent and Financial Advisor.   30 years of dealing with peoples poor judgements.

• Like 5
  • Thanks 1

We can register a vehicle without insurance in VA but it adds a $500 (may be more now) uninsured motor vehicle fee to the annual tag fee. UMVF goes into an uninsured motorists fund in the state treasury.

In these litigious times I can't understand anyone being that foolish and financially ignorant and irresponsible, to go on the roads without at least minimum liability coverage.

• Like 2