What are your dumbest automotive moments?

carbking

A post in another thread got me thinking about mistakes. I have been working on my own cars since 1959, and carburetors professionally since 1966. So what are my dumbest moments?

(1) installing an electric choke on my wife's car that had an automatic tranmission (not dumb, just plain stupid!)

(2) thinking I could make my son's Pontiac 301 Trans-Am run with a basically stock 1969 Toyota Corona (family car) by adding a factory turbo

(3) listening to the internet that blocking the heat cross-over on my GTO was a good idea

(4) NOT buying a 1958 Ford flip-top in excellent condition in 1970 for $45. because I personally thought the 1958 was ugly!

So tell on yourself, what have you done (or not done) that you wish for a do-over?

Jon

• Like 1

Being in my mid-20's with a little machine shop experience I put a good used brake rotor on my '71 Ford. I had seen water based machine lubricants on lathes so why not sand them with a little light oil.  Probably wouldn't have even remembered if I hadn't taken that ride up to Skyline Drive over Keuka Lake..... and down again.

Oh, that picture was taken the day I had to use the high speed tangential approach to get off the beach at Chimney Bluffs.

013.jpg.455407d578383ba7b5474c0911fdc10b.jpg

• Like 1

Posted this before but swapping my very nice 56 Chevy 210 for a ratty 71 Corvette is up there.  

56 just prior to getting bumpers on. (My 76 Chevy Stepside in background on the road)

71 Corvette had many gremlins and even more needs.  

Live and learn...

20220622_160843.jpg

20201211_152301.jpg

• Like 1