NOT MINE: 1939 Delahaye 135M Cabriolet

I have no Knowledge of whether this is any kind of deal or what it could actually be bought for as they say a substantial cash discount but you would have a pretty cool car after investing untold wheelbarrow loads of cash.  Also not something you usually see on Craigslist.

1939 Delahaye 135M Cabriolet, one of two 1939 Letouneur et Marchand bodied 135M's and the only surviving example. 90+% complete. Sitting since 1962. Needs complete restoration. Substantial discount for cash buyer. Will also trade for land in the Canaan/Cornwall/Sharon CT area plus cash. Additional photos are available upon request. 

$220000

https://newyork.craigslist.org/mnh/atq/d/wallingford-1939-delahaye-135m-cabriolet/7118235775.html

00Q0Q_eiHqnC2Hp8I_600x450.jpg

• Like 1

Makes one wonder what a steep cash discount means?  I agree looks rough,  but it is nice to see something besides a hacked up normal production car for sale once in a while.  Proportionately it's probably normal craigslist over pricing.  Just the numbers are much bigger. 

• Like 1

I always tell people not to come unless they have cash to buy. It is a wonderful step toward closing the deal.

"Would you like to come tomorrow? The banks are closing in about an hour."

"No, I think I can make it before they close if I hurry".

It makes me smile just to write that.

Bernie

• 2 weeks later...

It’s interesting. The real value is the entertainment it brings us watching the price fall until it doesn’t sell.

• Like 1
  • Haha 1

At $4.04, I would even pay to have it shipped here, drop it in my back yard, and plant flowers in it. Would bring me more years of joy than anyone who paid to restore it could possibly expect to get.