Anyone else noticed show turnouts getting lower?

Pontiac59

I'm by no means an expert, but it sure seems like AACA show turnouts have dropped off this year.

I did an Onieda Lake Region (New York) show in Liverpool and it was quiet, even with nice weather, one field that normally fills right up had very few cars in it.

And I just got back from one in Auburn NY - Finger Lakes Region? which was the same deal - maybe 1/3 to 1/2 as many fewer cars turned out. This one was opposite an all-Mopar show at the same place in Liverpool, but I don't think that cut into it as much.

I'm already skipping the Owego NY show I did last year - I set up and sell the swap meets, and barely broke even at that one last year. These shows, my sales are down too, and I don't want to go and lose money. Yesterday I sold a whopping $29 - the gas down to Owego would cost more than that. Normally I'd do between 2 and 3 times as much.

By comparison, the hot rod shows I've sold better at, and the turnouts have been about the same. And I went back to an all-Ford show for the first time in 3 years and did pretty decent there too - this one with a terrible weather forecast, although it never really did rain. Some of these shows are at the same locations as the AACA shows, too, so it's hard to attribute the drop to other local elements.

Are people just staying home because of the price of gas?

Pony, I don't have figures, but my first meet in Charlotte was a little short because of the weather, although the awards dinner was well represented. The Flintstone Meet was really nice, lots of cars and people. It took like forever for the awards to be passed out on to sides of the room. I thought Enzo the cat, I mean Dave Berg, was going to pass out calling winner's names.