Is the Hershey Car Show or the flea market getting preference.

Ricko1937

Please don't get me wrong here because I have been attending Hershey for over 30 years, but it seems to me after viewing the field maps and car show area that the flea market is getting the preferred areas over the show. The Judges parking is around the Arena on asphalt and the car show is on grass outside the area. I like car shows on grass but heaven forbid when you get that 3 day rain and sooner or later you will get it. You can't expect some of these cars to be driving thru the mud. Even the trailer parking is in a field that I have seen 4 wheel drive tractors pulling trailers out. Years ago when the show fields were around the stadium (on asphalt), it was centrally located between the flea markets. People could walk between the flea market fields thru the car show. I don't want to upset anybody here because I can't imagine how hard it is to setup a show of this magnitude. I just feel the car show could use a little more respect. With all the asphalt that is now available the show should be on dry ground. Thanks for listening to my thoughts.

Here is some perspective. The flea market and car corral people are usually at the meet from Tuesday thru Saturday. The car show is one day. When it rained heavily two years ago less than 500 out of 1500 actually showed anyway. The car show is on a former golf course and drains very well. There has been some work done to the show site with removal of trees, a new entrance to avoid the stone road and it will be rolled and cut a few days prior to the meet.