Hello All. I'm new to this but we bought a 1968 Olds 442.

Ross82nd

It currently has a 5572654B 403  77-79 motor in it and I have a donor with a 396021F 455 68-72.  My question is would it make the car more valuable with the 455 motor in it? The car has a new interior minus the dash. It is an automatic, Has nearly everything still factory on it except the trans and motor of course. The body is in great shape, just needs the body panels professionally aligned for proper gaps ect. It currently runs great! Just wondering if it would be worth the effort? 

Serious collectors often prefer cars which are as correct-as-original as possible. If your 455 has correct casting number, production date codes, etc, then it will certainly be more desirable to some folks. But take your time with this decision, as there are many important complexities here. More later...it's a very busy week! 

• Like 1

7 hours ago, Ross82nd said:

It currently has a 5572654B 403  77-79 motor in it and I have a donor with a 396021F 455 68-72.  My question is would it make the car more valuable with the 455 motor in it? The car has a new interior minus the dash. It is an automatic, Has nearly everything still factory on it except the trans and motor of course. The body is in great shape, just needs the body panels professionally aligned for proper gaps ect. It currently runs great! Just wondering if it would be worth the effort? 

Congratulations !

The Olds 442 is (in my opinion) a better functional daily driver muscle car than a Moparts car of the period.

They are in short supply & underappreciated in market value.

Did you buy it to drive it & enjoy ?

Then put your money into making it more reliable to do just that.

Did you buy it as an investment or to flip it to make money ?

As noted above - a survivor example as close original as possible is a better choice.

I recently transported this 1956 Packard Patrician Roller Project from

Athol, Massachusetts to Morton, Mississippi