Welding Repair

MochetVelo

I am no welding expert, but I suggest you pick the method that would impart the least distortion.  The alignment of the pins is critical to the function of the part.  Perhaps heating the whole part prior to MIG welding would provide more penetration and reduce or eliminate  distortion?

I have done similar repairs by brazing then filing to shape.  You can build up with brass and file smooth easier, and it is quite durable although not as durable as hardened steel. Metal spray is another possibility.

Or, arc weld or MIG weld and grind it down. There are a lot of different alloys of welding rod available, an experienced welder may be able to recommend something made for this kind of application.

• Like 1

There is no bearing, which explains the wear. Here's a photo of the cone clutch removed from its holder. The steel slider on the right disengages the clutch by moving to the left. It spreads the 3 roller arms which, in turn, push the cone clutch inward. The slot in the slider (the orange screwdriver is aimed at it) is where the worn "fork" parts above fit. As you can see, there is no bearing. They just loosely fit in the slot.

Phil

IMG_3242.JPG

That part looks like cast iron. If that is the case, welding is a gamble. Cast welding is an art at best and it never has the strength of the original cast part. I would make a new part from steel. I have the equipment to do this, but a good machinist could make a new one easily. Depending on the way it works and the moving load it may need to be hardened, but again, that is not a big issue. Material choice is the most important thing and a machinist can make a good choice that will fit the purpose. Just my thoughts.

Edited by 37_Roadmaster_C (see edit history)
  • Like 1