Correct way to install cotter pins in castle nuts?

Gary_Ash

It seems simple enough:  spin on a castle nut and torque it down, insert a cotter pin through the hole in the threaded shaft or bolt, bend the ends over.  But, there must be a right way to insert the pin and bend the ends.  I've been doing this for about 60 years but was never taught the correct procedure.  Here's what I now think is the right way:

Insert the pin in the hole until the head bottoms.  The head is positioned with the long dimension aligned with the shaft or bolt so it fits completely in the slot of the castle nut.  The longer end of the cotter pin is up so it's easy to grab.  With a finger or tool, bend the long end up and over the end of the bolt or shaft, tap it down tight.  Bend the short end down over the face of the nut, trimming as required to prevent snagging yourself later.

Yet, I see all kinds of demonstrations and photos - including from fastener suppliers - showing the cotter pin inserted with the head rotated 90 degrees and the two ends bent in opposite directions around the nut .  Besides being ugly, this doesn't seem right.  I also saw a video claiming that the short end should be left straight and not bent down around the nut - also seems wrong and leaves a pointy end to snag you.  I checked my current version of Machinery's Handbook and  a reputable book on machine design - they were both remarkably silent about installing cotter pins though they had all the dimensions for standard cotter pins and castle nuts.

Does anyone know a definitive reference on the subject?  I confess that as a kid, and short of a new cotter pin, I inserted a finishing nail and bent it over - more than once. 

cotter pin.jpg

• Like 1