Need opinions on a '73

PWB

Gang,

I'm considering purchasing this apparently nice '73 as a driver.

I would greatly appreciate any judgments / opinions good AND bad on it.

Been over 30 years since my last '73 so I'm no expert. I remember my last '73 carb' gave me issues and the tranny slipped at only 65K. :unsure:

I see its got some wonky alarm system?

Anyways thanks and enjoy your summer rides!

https://www.uniquemankato.com/vehicles/674/1973-buick-riviera

334143b2bb70d_hd_1973-buick-riviera.jpg

Edited by PWB (see edit history)

Brings back memories. I had a '73 back in the day, and put 140,000 miles on it. Always considered it a good car, with good build quality. The car pictured is certainly attractive. I'll let others weigh in on its condition, and just comment on driving one daily. It's a great highway cruiser, fast, powerful and steady. But poor gas mileage. And it's a big car, which makes parking in an urban setting challenging, and the long, thick doors pose difficulties in cramped parking lots. The back seat is difficult to get into, and legroom is very tight once you're in. So a lot depends on whether you're driving in an urban or rural setting, and whether you want to haul multiple passengers. If you do buy the car, keep a close watch on the vacuum advance diaphragm on the distributor. Mine failed about every 10,000 miles, and gas mileage would go down from 13 to 11. That's how I knew it was time for a new diaphragm. Also, I replaced multiple mufflers and resonators. When the time comes either install a stainless system or go to a Midas equivalent and get a system with a lifetime replacement warranty. A plus is the fact that the car has the 5 MPH bumpers, which -- though often criticized -- are great at protecting the car. The sound system was good for that era. Never had any carburetor or transmission problems.

• Thanks 1