BRASS Lamp reference

Terry Bond

I've got a couple of old car buddies trying to talk me into writing a book on brass lamps.  I'm an amateur collector (accumulator actually) and have a small collection of them. I was able to pull together some information and presented a couple of seminars at the AACA Annual meeting, but the info I shared was very generic.    I've always wondered if such a reference exists, and I'm learning it does not.  It might be a fun retirement project,.  I like to learn as much as I can about things I collect but it's been very difficult to find information on brass lamps aside from what is some of the early accessory or lamp catalogs I've collected over the years.

Some questions for the general audience before I type the first word or take the first photograph -  Is there anything out there on lamps or early automotive lighting?   Are there any major collectors/collections of brass lamps that might be resources for help or information?  Is there any information on the companies that produced them?   I realize that any such reference would need to be international in scope as it would a serious omission to forget about those wonderful French, German and British lamps made in the early 1900s.  I would not want this to be a pure "picture book" but would want to include some accurate information on manufacturers and perhaps even what cars used which lamps if possible.   A tremendous undertaking for sure and at this point every time I think about it it gets more complicated.  I can envision spending hours pouring through early publications and trade journals for info, and extensive travel to visit museums and collectors.  Sounds like fun but would be a big commitment and a years-long project that would probably need updating (volume II) as soon as it was published.   It would be a labor of love for sure as the market for it would be very limited.

Thoughts appreciated, especially from anyone who has ever undertaken a similar project. 

Terry