Towing Vehicles: 2wd vs. 4wd

I tow with both and would prefer 4wd. The only reason my 3/4 ton Silverado is 2wd is I found a used truck that was just too nice to pass up. I’m always a little uneasy I will end up in a low-traction situation, like parking on wet grass, and will get stuck.

• Like 3

Well, strictly for towing, then 2WD would offer the maximum GVWR.  If, however, you're pulling a big camper/RV or horse trailer, where you may have to go off-pavement, then the added traction of 4WD would be important to consider.

• Like 5

Steve,

I am just a car collector hobbyist that tows mostly during summer months.  So, I tow my heavy Buicks with a 2019 GMC Yukon Denali with the 6.2L gasoline engine and 10 speed transmission.  I get 23 MPG highway and just over 10 MPG towing with my 20' V nose all aluminum enclosed trailer in 2wd.  I have not yet needed to use 4wd while towing except to get through a muddy uphill spot on a private driveway. 

This SUV is rated to tow 8500 lbs., rides much better than a pickup, and is much easier to park in town.  I have been very satisfied with this rig while towing my Buicks.  I suggest you consider buying an all-aluminum trailer if you plan to use a light duty tow vehicle since aluminum trailers are much lighter & last longer because they don't rust.   I personally believe an aluminum trailer is a more cost-effective investment than buying a higher rated tow vehicle. 

Good luck,

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1

All of my Suburban tow vehicles have been 2-WD.

I never thought, living in the deep south, that I'd even have a use for 4-WD.

WRONG !!

Visiting, and towing to and from the north, inclement weather, were basically OK,

then one AACA Meet, all trailers were required to park on a grassy slope, mine pulled by my 2002 Suburban 2500 2-WD. 

The it rained.

I needed to be towed out (up a modest incline) because my 2-WD rear wheels just could not find traction, pulling the trailer.