Babbitt bearings

Morgan Wright

Who knows anything about babbitt bearings? Never had a car with babbitt before. I have a 1940 Buick, but it has a '53 engine. I rebuilt a '50 Dodge Coronet, no babbitt. '54 Oldsmobile Rocket 88, no babbitt. Countless other cars, never even heard of babbitt.

Now, I'm doing a 1918 Buick 6-cylinder. I dropped a piston today and the babbitt looks like these pics.

So, all the babbitt experts can tell me what do you think of the state of repair of this 100 old babbitt. I see some small gouges, but no scrapes and no thinning or roughness and it's all smooth. But I'm no expert in fact I know absolutely nothing.

All 4 of the original shims are there and there is no looseness at all.

DSCN2693.JPG

DSCN2692.JPG

DSCN2673.JPG

DSCN2691.JPG

DSCN2672.JPG

Depends on if you plan on driving the car.  If you are going to look at the car, then put it together.  If you plan on driving/touring with the car, get all the mains and rods rebabbited.  Old babbit will get brittle and break up.  Ask me how I know.  Been there, done that.  Just had the rods in my truck redone last week because of an oil line failure.

Morgan, 

Here is an idea on the cost to rebabbitt in 2018.  Babbit work was done in California.  Line boring and crankshaft regrind was done 1 hour away in Houston to save on shipping a crankshaft and block.  They unfortunately never asked so, no shims were installed on the crank mains prior to the line bore, so I have none to remove later if I wanted to.   Connecting rods do have shims.     

$ 852      Babbit on 4 main bearings  

$1022     Babbit the Connecting Rods

$30               Shipping to California from Texas

$41               return Shipping

$225              Regrind crank shaft (1 hour away)

$385              Line bore the block   (1 hour away)

$100              Shop fees and tax

-------------------------

$2,655