1953 Packard Caribbean

sftamx1

I have a gorgeous 1953 Packard Caribbean I will be selling Thursday/ Friday at the Hershey car corral.  It has a very unusual custom 2 piece hardtop attachment covered in vinyl.  It looks factory, it is so well constructed, but I am told it is a one off custom piece. The car can be fitted  with the rear section only, similiar to a town car with an open front! Has anyone ever seen or heard of such a removable hardtop for a Caribbean? 

20191008_100241.jpg

20191008_100244.jpg

Edited by sftamx1
Error (see edit history)

There are not enough Packard experts on this forum, at this time to make an educated comment on your inquiry.  It would need posed to one of the 2 Packard clubs, and then be sifted back to the club historians.  If you have not already done that.   I studied Packard for awhile and owned a 1949 Custom 8 once, but that does not make me an expert.  I can only speculate based on all of my readings and understanding of Packard circa 1953 that they would NOT play around with something like this.

Many things to consider -

1. Packard was in a bit of dire straits in 1953 and only made the Caribbean because they knew everybody else was coming out with a "Motorama" type car in 1953, and they did not want to be the odd company out.  It took a lot of work to get the bodies to Freeport, Illinois and back and they were considered special enough without a bunch of options. 

2. Any roof section created to fit a Caribbean would likely have been full length, to make it a true 3 season or 4 season car.  These half roofs went solidly out of fashion in 1941-42. 

3. Any purchaser of a Caribbean could likely afford such a one off piece to be made.  

4. There are to my knowledge no factory photos of such a roof .