1964 Skylark Engine Cooling Issue at Extended Idle

Machine Gun

Background: I recently replaced the stock two-row radiator in my Skylark V8 with a three-row unit, and replaced the stock four-blade fan with a six-blade, non-clutch fan in preparation for my cross-country trip last month. I upgraded the cooling system to better deal with the desert heat. The water pump is three years old, and I have a 180 degree thermostat installed.

Performance: The coolant temperature never got over 195 degrees while the car was in motion, even when temperatures in the Mojave Desert were approaching 100 degrees. Coolant temperature usually remained at 190 degrees or lower in all other weather conditions even when temps were in the high-80s, again when the car was in motion.

Problem: During periods of extended idling, even with outside temps in the low-70s, the temperature rose to 230 degrees after sitting in traffic for about ten minutes. Fortunately on those occasions I was able to get out of traffic before I had to shut down the engine. It never boiled over.

Assessment: It seems clear to me that the fan isn't providing enough air flow when the car is sitting. The fan shroud is in place, the replacement fan is the same diameter as the stock fan, and I put the stock fan back on to see if the blade pitch might have something to do with it. No difference.

Next steps: Electric fan? High-capacity water pump? Buy a Studebaker?

Not to sound flakey, but when was the last time the block freeze plugs were knocked out, cleaning out the block's water passages, and replace the freeze plugs?  Additionally, at what hot base idle speed is this happening at?  AANNDDDD, a possibly big side issue, which was was the car headed, into the wind or away from the wind?  Base timing to spec, or retarded to better tolerate current fuels?