Keeping up with a leaky transmission, newbie question. . .

DecoDog

Salutations kind Internet car folks!

I’ll preface this post by saying I’ve never performed an oil change before. Apologies in advance if this is a no-brainer, but I’m new to the hobby! 

My 1936 Airstream DeSoto Sedan has a leaky transmission—at the seals on either end it seems from my cursory inspection (This is an issue I knew about when I purchased the car). It’s hard to get a good idea how much leaks, as when it’s sitting it’s just a small pool, but I have the hunch that it leaks significantly more when the oil is warm and the car is moving—but of course it’s hard to monitor a moving car! I don’t currently have the means to have it properly serviced, so for the time being I’m flying blind.

I imagine the car is still perfectly drivable so long as I keep the fluids at a healthy level. 
I was planning on draining the fluids and measuring what comes out, to see how far off the capacity it is and then calculate a rough leak rate. Then, proceed to fill it up and “top it off” every so often to compensate for the loss. 

My questions would be:

-Can you overfill a transmission with fluid, is this easy to accidentally do? (My plan would’ve been to just keep filling the car to “capacity” every so often, but I figure there’s more space in the recess for oil than is required).
-Is there a dependable way to check fluid levels besides draining? 
-What would be your suggestion to dealing with this issue?

So far, I’ve clambered under the car to check where the transmission oil drain and fill plugs are, as well as where a bulk of the oil leaks to and placed a dish under to measure the amount while the car sits.

As with anything, I’m sure my specific car would change any usual procedure, but a general suggestion is highly appreciated! 

Thanks in advance for taking the time to share your knowledge with a newbie, I’ll take any tips I can get!