Title with wrong model number

Felix

Hi,

I have a 51 Roadmaster, 4 port.

my Massachusetts title shows Model name

as 40 and Model number Special.

This is clearly a Roadmaster and title is in my

dads name, but signed over to me(son). Dad has passed on.

The question is run the title as is into my name,then apply for corrections.

Thanks

Felix

Gingery,

Thanks, this is exactly what I have started, no wanting to cause a shit storm cause I didn’t 

look at title when purchased.

shooting for new title in my name from dad, then do corrections

Thanks

Felix

• Like 1

On 1/6/2021 at 7:56 AM, Felix said:

I have a 51 Roadmaster, 4 port.

my Massachusetts title shows Model name as 40 and Model number Special.

This is clearly a Roadmaster and title is in my dads name, but signed over to me(son). Dad has passed on.

The question is run the title as is into my name,then apply for corrections.

As above, make sure the VIN, engine number and chassis number on the car match the paper work. Check & check again.

When did your Dad purchase the car?

I don't know how MA handles these things but as long as the VIN on the car and the title match I would think that correcting the model would be relatively simple. In NJ a photo or pencil rubbing of the body plate usually suffices if the VIN matches. That you inherited the car makes it worthwhile to go through whatever trouble it takes to get it corrected. However, I would never buy a vehicle that had an incorrect title no matter how seemingly minor the discrepancy; it's the seller's job to produce a correct title, even a color change due to a repaint.