What am I missing here?

EmTee

First, let me say that I have ZERO pre-war automobile experience, Buick or otherwise.  But - I have slowly begun to pine for a 38, 40, or '41 Buick (OK, I'll consider a '39 if the deal is right).  I don't need it immediately, but owning a straight 8 is now on my 'bucket list'.  That said, the '40 Special in the ad below has popped-up.  The price seems quite reasonable assuming the car is as nice as it looks in the pictures (at least on the outside).  So, what are the possible issues that could explain what seems to be a low asking price?  Mice in the interior...?  Bad wiring?  37K miles seems really low if actual (and not 137K)  NADA would say it should bring ~ $17K.  I'm confused...  :huh:

https://syracuse.craigslist.org/cto/d/1940-buick-custom-coupe/6251581529.html

IMO, the market for many old cars is soft.  A number of reasons is that a number of owners are getting a lot older and starting to sell off their collections, the younger generation is not interested in the old iron and/ or they do not have the financial means to buy & maintain an older vehicle.   I think that at some time the market will rebound some, but I do not know when it will be.

I do not think some of the valuation publications have caught up with the market and the economy.

That said, the market for pre 1910 bigger brass cars, classic cars of the late 20's-30's and other noteworthy cars will always hold their value and desirability.

Just IMHO.

Edited by Larry Schramm (see edit history)
  • Like 2
  • Thanks 2

In the real world, NADA is way high on these late 30's-40's Buicks.  No way will my car be worth what it says.  With the limited photos and info in the ad, it's hard to say if it's worth $5000 or $15000.  Need more info on it.

Look what this great looking car sold for just last summer:

IMG_3211.PNG

Edited by 39BuickEight (see edit history)
  • Thanks 1