Points vs electronics in older cars

Charles Johns

I am a newbie to this site but a car builder for 50 years. I love old cars antique or hot rodded. Though I retired years ago I still build for me and I write for the Mustang 6-cylinder Association on line. On thing that seems to be over-discussed by people who do not really know is ignitions. Points work great up to about 5000 RPM, and actually can stay with HEI up to 7000 RPM. So why did the auto industry switch to electronically triggered ignitions? When fuel injection went from mechanical to electronics and computers were used to control emissions, it was easy to control spark the same way. Now fuel/air mixture, timing, and emissions could be under one system the engineers could design, and with the interior heat and AC being controlled also, why not throw in the suspension and ride comfort. Computers is why points went the way of the dinosaur. My degree is in electronics, and I spent 20 years chasing electrons in home entertainment equipment while I built cars as a hobby. Understanding better than most both systems, I began to look at them from a simple "which is better" view. Points are old Kettering mechanics from 100 years ago, while electronics is the New Kid On The Block. Electronics can be more accurate at higher RPM and under much higher pressures, but is it BETTER? Points make a LONG spark compared to electronics, which means, as the mixture swirls around the combustion chamber points have a better chance to fire the mixture. That is why MSD was invented...to simulate the longer points spark. By using the best available parts (points, condenser, rotor, cap, wires, and plugs), plus installing a hotter coil with a low ohms ignition resistor (slightly more primary volts makes more output), and using almost no resistance copper wires to feed the platinum plugs, we get a hotter spark than OEM. Remember, if the plugs will fire with 15,000 to 20,000 volts, THAT is all the system needs, and your 50,000 volts Su