Neil's '41 Super Model 51

neil morse

After posting various photos in the "Favorite Pictures of My Pre War Buick" thread, I decided it was time to start my own thread.  I got this car in March of 2017, and I know very little about its history.  It appears to be an older restoration of a solid original car.  I will start out with some photos (some of which have already been posted in the other thread).

Buick #1.jpg

IMG_1516.JPG

IMG_1507.JPG

IMG_1508.JPG

IMG_1509.JPG

IMG_1518.JPG

• Like 15

A little bit about myself (since the name of this forum is "Me and My Buick).  I am returning to the old car hobby after a 25 year hiatus.  In the late '80's and early '90's I owned several cars, including a '48 Chrysler Windsor Highlander that I did quite a bit of work on.  I am not a mechanic by any means, but I like taking things apart and enjoy doing cosmetic work.  I ended up putting a new, correct interior in the Chrysler, which included removing the dash and the garnish moldings, cutting new door panels, rebuilding and repainting the heater, etc.  I had a trim shop do the seats and headliner, but I did pretty much all the rest myself.  I also took the front clip off and detailed the engine compartment, including new wiring from the firewall forward which I made up myself using the correct cloth-insulated wire and connectors.  Unfortunately, I don't have many photos of the Chrysler from that pre-digital age, but I'm posting two that I scanned from battered snapshots.

I always figured I would get another car when I retired, so I started looking around early this year.  The Buick fit my budget and seemed like just what I was looking for: a nice, solid driver that needed a little cosmetic tweaking and I could have fun with without spending too much money.  So far, it seems to be exactly that.

Chrys3.jpg

dash1.jpg

• Like 9

12 minutes ago, JohnD1956 said: