The New Classics?

Guest Double M

Guest Double M

I am a regular but new member and do most of my posting on the Reatta Forum. I'm a writer, artist, musician type, so I can go on. Forgive me. What I want to talk about is applying more and more, day after day to many of us. The subject of the Classic car.

I'm not that old or young (49) but traditionally I always consider the cars 0f the 50's, 60's & 70's to be the cars to seek out, fix up and drive. These are what I consider "real cars". A car w/o a catalytic converter or a computer, probably with bias ply tires and a big honkin V8 in it. The last one of these real cars I owned was a 1966 Chevy Impala SS around 2001. It was simple to work on and reletively easy to find parts for... and thats why I considerered it a "real car".

I started driving in 1978 and the cars I was buying used were from the 60's and early 70's. As I got older and making more money (at the time) I started buying New cars. They were dependable and fast and I no longer spent my weekends and weeknights working on my cars.

But now, this thing called the Depression came along and hit me pretty hard and I had to start buying used cars again. Except now its 20 years later! Ahhh! All those cool easy to work on cars require a second mortgage to get and I cant even pay my first! A nice simple slant 6 Dodge Dart can cost Thousands!

So I traded my last new car... a $24,000 2004 MINI Cooper for a $500 1985 Dodge Diplomat with only 85,000 miles on it and crossed my fingers. I got a check for $10,000 to go with it.

I am very familiar with Mopars and figured that this would help me service and maintain the thing, and it did. I still have it and it is still my daily driver. There is nothing like a V8, even in mid 80'd emmision controlled form. But it isnt going to last forever, but it seems the depression will sometimes...