Restoration/Build of a Hubley 1930 Packard Dual Cowl Phaeton

I don't build a lot of pre-War stuff...I don't build a lot of vehicles that aren't race cars. But I'm tackling a project that will be quite challenging and it actually fits into the theme of the board so I'll share my progress. It will not be quick. 

2v2eSss2rx2zUmm.jpg

I was given this Hubley 1930 Packard kit several years ago. The box is disintegrating before my eyes, and it's entirely possible some of the parts I'm missing were in the box when I received it but have since fallen out and gotten lost. I believe this kit was made around 1961 but there is no copyright info on the box, paperwork or kit itself. 

Luckily the instructions are present, as well as an order form to order replacement parts. If only! 

2v2eSss3jx2zUmm.jpg

I definitely need the instructions because I've never built a kit with working steering before, and each model kit manufacturer does their kits a little differently. This is my first Hubley kit. I've built more than 400 plastic models and more than 500 diecast rebuilds (all NASCAR) but this is something in between. It's diecast but it's also a full kit. 

2v2eSsRndx2zUmm.jpg

2v2eSsRqyx2zUmm.jpg

2v2eSsRdNx2zUmm.jpg

Someone had started the kit a long time ago. One of the unusual things about the Hubley kit is that it screws together, so it can be taken apart and refitted repeatedly. That is surely going to help me. It was partially painted a metallic red, but the paint job is fairly poor- it appears to be done with a brush, it's chipped in several places and oddly not all of the car was painted. 

2v2eSsRMyx2zUmm.jpg

Like so.  I will be removing the paint. Since I am going to try and save the interior panels, which will be a challenge, it will make more work to strip the paint off the body but in the end I think it will be worth it. I do not know yet what color I will make the finished car. I'm not close to that stage yet.