Early Chrysler judging rules

BlueDevil

This is going to be interesting because I too would be interested in how pre 1930 Chryslers would be judged.  I've experienced difficulty trying to determine what applies or does not for my 1928 Model 72 Sport Roadster.  Early Chrysler detail documentation is sparce to non-existent.  Heck, there is no shop manual for my car except what is in the owners manual.  Someone enlighten me please.

• Like 2

I've been restoring early Chryslers since 1972 and never seen anything for judging. The biggest problem with these early Chryslers, is that seldom will you find 2 identical cars. They made so many changes in such a short time, that I doubt if anyone is still alive that can verify what is right and what is not.

• Like 4

Thanks for the input. My issue is I am getting ready to paint the engine and transmission and all I see on the web is some shade of gray or avocado. I can only find one black one.

In taking stuff off my engine, I can find no evidence of black paint anywhere.

And I doubt you will,  my engine and bell housing were avocado green under 82 years of crude.  R & E Automotive Paint & Supply will put the green into a rattle can JE 44955, Avocado Green.  Your head should be a red head,  mine is not so it should be silver/gray unless I fake it.  This only pertains to Chrysler Model 72 Roadsters.

Edited by leomara (see edit history)

The WPChysler Club did judge plenty of pre-war cars in the 70s through 00s, and the magazine had up until 1990 quite some good stories on various models with detail-information. Someone knew these cars, question is whether that someone still active today. Anyhow I doubt that standards have been written down, like for British sportscars or Corvettes.