Stainless Steel Ford Cars

JZRIV

I posted this in the Ford forum but thought it was interesting enough to post here as well.

Apologize if something has been posted on this as I'm generally in the Buick Forums. I was not aware of these cars and I live within 15 miles of where they were located. Thought maybe you Ford guys and gals would be interested in knowing of their existence.

https://triblive.com/local/valley-news-dispatch/ati-removes-priceless-stainless-steel-cars-from-harrison-plant-plans-to-auction-them/

2676880_web1_vnd-atistainlesscars3-052820.jpg

• Like 5

14 hours ago, Ron of Chicago said:

I was a mechanic for a Lincoln - Mercury dealer just outside Chicago in the 60's and had a 67 Lincoln Stainless pull in one day. I guess it was driven by a Ford Rep. Neat car but I just didn't get the jest of building them.

Ron of Florida

To show the durability of stainless steel is the point. Being up here in the serious Rust Belt I'd love to have that stainless T Bird!

On 6/6/2020 at 7:36 AM, jpage said:

Ford built 4 stainless Model A cars during production; I believe there is only one left. I didn't know that they built stainless cars for so many years.

I've read that Allegheny wasn't involved with the stainless Model A, that Ford built them to promote its new-at-the-time stainless ("rustless" in Ford-speak) radiator shell, headlights, taillights, etc.  A few years ago, the surviving stainless Model A Tudor was on eBay for $1M - dunno if it sold.  Supposedly one was cut up to show the internal structure - the fate of it and the other stainless A's is unknown.

Many years ago, I saw a picture of a stainless 36 and Thunderbird (or maybe Lincoln, can't recall) with a shiny TT truck, but I've never heard of a stainless T.  There was some use of aluminum for vehicle bodies back then so it may have been that.