Questions on Testing 1926 DB 4 Cylinder 6 Volt Generator

DB26

Hello everyone, I’m not a complete novice at electrical theory, but am no expert. I have a question / questions about testing the 6 volt charging system.

Ive read the mechanics instruction booklet on the subject and it talks a lot of amperes and cut outs, but I’m still not certain my system is charging correctly. 

Using a multimeter with the engine OFF, my battery reads about 6.12 volts.

Whith the engine running at idle it reads only 6.11 volts. 

My experiece with late 50s fords leads me to believe there is a problem. 

I know the manual says the charging system cuts in at 9 MPH, but I would think racing the engines throttle would give me the same result. 

It it did not, constant 6.11 volts across the board. 

The amperes meter is one the sweeps from 12 to 12, so it might be the incorrect one. The needle stays on zero mostly, and dips backs forth very subtlety. 

Does anoyone have advice on how to properly test the charging system on my 26 Dodge? It appears it’s never been adjusted or tampered with. I have a spare cut out a I can swap in. And the fuse is good. 

Thanks everyone , and Happy 4th of July to my fellow citizens of the USA! 🇺🇸

Edited by DB26 (see edit history)

The generator output voltage has to be greater than the battery voltage for the cut out relay to close and charge the battery.  If the generator output is weak due to brush wear or the third brush is not properly adjusted the cutout relay will not engage.  That is the simple place to start, after that it gets a little more complicated.

• Like 1