Learning to rebuild an engine

kobayashimaru

Greetings!

I am just starting out working on my 401 nailhead and I realized something. While I know how its put together, and we all know that its easier to take something apart than to put it together again, there is still a lot I don't know. Once the cylinder head is off, my knowledge ends. When it comes to machining things, grinding crankshafts and doing performance upgrades, I am lost.

I am wondering if anyone here can recommend a book or a website that I can read and learn about this stuff.

Thanks in advance

Joe

^^^^^How do you "adjust" tolerances after an engine is running???^^^^^^

All engines should be assembled at factory established tolerances. If it calls for a certain rod and main bearing fit or piston to wall clearance, then that's it. You cant go back and loosen or tighten thing up a bit unless, maybe, it's valve clearance

• Like 2

All engines should be assembled at factory established tolerances. If it calls for a certain rod and main bearing fit or piston to wall clearance, then that's it. You cant go back and loosen or tighten thing up a bit unless, maybe, it's valve clearance

That's what I thought he meant too.  Valve clearances can be adjusted on a running Small Block Chevy engine.  I hear it's the same for the big blocks, but I've never messed with those.  As you pointed out, other clearances are adjusted as the engine is assembled.

Cheers,

Grog

As I recall there is NO adjustment in the Buick nail head design out of the factory. I am pretty sure the valve tips have to be ground to a specific height. The head was rebuilt and this was not done correctly and created a problem for us. The rockers had no adjustment and sit on a rocker shaft. The cure was simple but expensive, there are aftermarket adjustable push rods that I found and the problem was cured. They do get built tight 

Edited by John348 (see edit history)

right.

It's the valve clearance I that I had in mind