How Do I Pick the Best Repair Shop for a Prewar Car?

TexRiv_63

I have come to the point with my 34 Packard Eight where I need to find a shop to do selected mechanical repair. Depending on a whole lot of variables this may include a radiator repair / recore, engine cooling system cleanout, valve work, piston and ring replacement, brake power assist repair, etc. I would like this car to be a dependable driver able to do tours, but I am NOT looking to RESTORE the car. In the past I have done most of my own work and have considered doing that here but realism is setting in. I have no experience with this type of vehicle and I don't want to start anything I can't finish. The ideal situation would be a local shop with the experience to work on this type of vehicle, willing to work within my limitations and specifications, and possibly do the repairs in segments based on cost. Am I dreaming?

I know of a few possible candidates and I plan to contact local PAC members for any suggestions but have not talked to any shops yet. I have read a lot of horror stories on this and other forums so I am approaching this with concern. I would be interested in your experiences and any advice as to the best method to "audition" a prospective mechanic. Thanks in advance for your help.

Shame you aren't up in Virginia, I know a great shop up here.....my only advice is talk to customers of shop you're considering and determine reputation....I'd also say that your list of things to do will be $10k to $12k plus before it's over, more if the engine needs serious rebuilding... Good luck, great car....

Thanks David, the cost of this is one of my concerns. I don't mind paying for the right level of experience but need some checks and balances. Is asking for references from a shop acceptable? Thanks West, I have bookmarked Tom's shop. I am hoping for something closer to home so I can observe progress firsthand but who knows...

I'm going to visit the first shop tomorrow in Dallas, we shall see.