Sandblasting Media.. choices?

Team,

I have searched the forums looking for advice on sandblasting media.. as I am new to the restoration projects (IT guy with new '37 hobby) I wanted to ask you guys n' gals about your suggestions on what type of media I should use..

I thought about...

a) Soda.. $40/50lb bag.. and I can get adapter for my sand blaster... But don't need it at this time..

B) Walnut shells, (cheaper) were the top suggestion, but wondered if it would strip my '37 to bare necessities.. unsure about paint jobs in past and how much bondo is on her..

c) glass beads was suggested but leaves a glossy finish that may hinder priming?

d) silca sand or Pool Filter Sand.. leaves residue..

what are your thoughts? As a beginner blaster, i would like to do a good job, I have the space, Blaster and Compressor.. just need the advice :)

here's my project: Tavalite's 1937 Pontiac Silver Streak | Restoration Project

Trevor...

Soda works great on paint and can be used to blast plastic parts carefully if they aren't real soft. Good for cleaning paint off plastic parts someone decided to paint. It also works great for cleaning carbuerators and other potmetal parts back to the factory finish. It works well on cadmium plated parts to clean residue, paint or light corrosion off. It doesn't work for any kind of rust removal though.

I use sand for blasting anything that requires rust removal or in my cabinet for continual use where it is being constantly reused.

The Soda is a one shot deal and can't be recycled.

I haven't had much experience with anything else as these 2 seem to do all I want them to.

They both leave a residue though which easily cleans off.

Just my 2 cents and experience so far.