1934 Ford pickup factory stock info help

If you've read the modeling thread you know I'm a modeler. Now I'm turning to the experts on here for help. What colors were 1934 Ford pickups available in? What should the interior and dashboard look like? I have a brand new reissue of the 34 truck kit and I'd like to build it as totally factory stock. Thanks!

In Loren Sorensen's  excellent 1984 book "The Commercial Fords", on page 221 there is an is a appendix of all Ford commercial  colour combos from 1928-1956 which contains the following information:

"1934 FORD COMMERCIAL COLORS;

Standard commercial colours:     Vermilion, Mountain Brown, Golden Orange, Blue Rock Green...

Plus passenger car colours:           Medium Lustre Black, Dearborn Blue, Cordoba Grey, Vineyard Green, and coach Maroon.

Stripe:  choice of Catawba Green, Silver Grey, Gold, or Tacoma Cream on any colour.

Wheels, fenders, running boards and sheet-metal: Black."

Although not mentioned in the addendum, I believe the dash panel and exposed interior metal were all painted  the same colour as the exterior cab.

Edited by dustycrusty (see edit history)
  • Like 2

1 hour ago, TerryB said:

Trucks are work vehicles,  please NO wide whitewalls😀

I agree! Nothing worse than seeing a modern movie supposedly set in a dirty, 1930's dust-bowl dirt main street village and every spotless car and truck is decked out in wide whitewalls, dual side-mounts, wind wings, moto-metres, grille guards  and curb-feelers! 

A contemporary photograph by Dorthea Lange  of a similar scene woulda shown a bunch of beat-up, --dusty, crusty-- (!!)  sun- baked trucks and cars with nary a whitewall in sight.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 2

1 hour ago, dustycrusty said:

I agree! Nothing worse than seeing a modern movie supposedly set in a dirty, 1930's dust-bowl dirt main street village and every spotless car and truck is decked out in wide whitewalls, dual side-mounts, wind wings, moto-metres, grille guards  and curb-feelers!