Paying for the National

ol' yeller

Not to be a rabble rouser but I am curious why the only way to pay for my entry and activities to the National is via snail mail (USPS). I am not comfortable in this day and age of identity theft to write my credit card info on a form, mail it in and trust the USPS not to send it to Nigeria. I did send a check. Going forward, it would be much easier to register and pay if there was a way to do this via a secure website. Fill in the blanks, give my CC info and done. The BCA would get their money faster and I would have registered much earlier. I am not advocating doing away with the snail mail option but I'd bet you would get a lot more entries sooner if there was a way to do this via the interwebz.

I have been using the US mail service for well over 50 years and can not tell you the last time they screwed up. I also type my credit card info into my computer, and too have not had any issues there as well. Even if someone used my credit card that they hacked, well, I would refuse to pay my bill.

It's time to quit blaming the postal service when actually they do a good job, IMO.

Dale in Indy

OOOps! It must have been the "day and age of identity theft" part that side tracked me.

Really, it is the club that manages the money receipts for the National, with some financial help from the club and a few others. Credit card payments would take at least 10% for processing through a third party. And if they set up an account with their bank the gateway fees and short term would add enough to, probably, raise the various registration fees. There's a bone of contention, for sure. All those squeaks in old Buick's aren't because the chassis is tight.

Bernie

Guest my3buicks

There is no excuse in this day and age to not have National Meets fully electronic especially for registration. It's time for the BCA to join this century a a whole.

Guest BigDogDaddy