65 Riviera trunk jack set up

Devjas

10 hours ago, Devjas said:

Asking for help...I want my tire jack to look correct in my trunk..I found the original hook and spring but don’t know how it’s put in place.

Any photos of the correct setup would be greatly appreciated...

This is a shot of my 63. I assume 65 is the same. Hope this helps.

Bill

IMG_2030.JPG

• Like 2

I studied a lot trunk compartments and this is what I decided was best...... I have my jack flipped over so the ugly protruding

handle socket doesn't show. The forward and backward position of the black center section of the jack seems to look best

the way I have mine. There has been much discussion about the jack handle previously on the forum. I've studied a lot of trunks

and most of them have the handle as shown, between the spring and the cardboard. Some have said that it goes under the spare tire

towards the front of the trunk tray, but I couldn't get mine to fit up there no matter how hard I tried. Everyone I 've talked to agrees

that the handle was not strapped to the jack from the factory, although it looks very nice that way.

DSCN0270.JPG

Edited by Seafoam65 (see edit history)
  • Like 1

Thanks to both Seafoam and Bill for you pics. It's exactly what I needed to see. Now I can put it all together.

I really like the way Bill attached the tire iron to the arm... How is it attached?  Tape? Velcro?

Here are a couple of pictures that show how the braces in the trunk are cut so that the jack will only orient itself one way if installed correctly.  A skinny bicycle inner tube cut into a couple of sections works well for supporting the jack handle.  When driving, and not parked for shows, you can also wedge the jack handle between the spare tire and the trunk floor.

On the top of the wheel well

IMG_20180817_121935727.thumb.jpg.6650e8d7c48d356a90fb4c0c49d9c0ec.jpg

On the floor of the trunk

IMG_20180817_122050779.thumb.jpg.c04d1fbaa17f573b205a74d9821c2b2b.jpg

• Like 2