Good source for car paint?? quart / gallon

68LTD

Anyone recommend a good source for car paint??  My local paint place has been semi helpful but seems to have high prices for the quarts/gallons. 

Thnx   TP in Va

• Like 1

1 hour ago, 68LTD said:

Anyone recommend a good source for car paint??  My local paint place has been semi helpful but seems to have high prices for the quarts/gallons. 

Thnx   TP in Va

Define "high prices".  Paint costs have gone through the roof recently.  $500.00 to $1,000.00 or more is not unusual in the new world of pricing from inflation & regulation.

• Like 6

If you want cheap, Walmart and Tractor Supply offers enamels in gallon cans for around $50. for application on metal surfaces.I have no experience with these, but the price is right.

I've also priced a gallon of "quality" paint at automotive paint stores for over $2500. Should be lots of options in between.

Maaco paint shops might be your best alternative if you can do all your own prep work and then have them spray it.

Edited by Reynard (see edit history)
  • Like 1

Please define the type of paint - lacquer ( nitrocellulose or acrylic) enamel, 2 stage ,  base coat clear coat   ???

Not being critical nor a put down but that is like saying you want to buy some food - what kind of ...........................

• Like 5

I just picked up a gallon of epoxy primer yesterday from my local mom n pop paint store. It was $200 and they threw in the catalyst for free! I only needed a quart but the brand they had that came in that amount was $180. So for another $20 I got 3 more quarts.

• Like 2