1946 Buick Super Model 50

Robuick46

Hello dear Buick fans.

My name is Robert and I live in Germany. Last year in June (2023), I bought a 1946 Buick Super from an older workshop master (a car mechanic with an additional training). He told me that he had bought the Buick himself in the Netherlands from a dealer. Previously, the Buick was owned by a Dutchman who had started to restore the car. But he died before he could finish the project (I hope that was not due to the many worries that the car caused him). The workshop master has finished the restoration. I have already read many reports in this forum and am always enthusiastic about the skills of the members, the stories and restoration reports. I am happy about every new report and especially with which I can learn something. I have little experience in repairing cars, but I am highly motivated.

Robert

Bild 1.jpg

Bild 2.jpg

Bild 3.jpg

Bild 4-1.jpg

Bild 5-1.jpg

Bild 6-1.jpg

Bild 7-1.jpg

Bild 8-1.jpg

• Like 11
  • Haha 1

Welcome to the AACA forums, Robert!  That's a great looking Buick you have there.  It's the same model and same color as my '41.  I'm sure you will get a lot of enjoyment out of it, and it must really turn heads in Germany!

• Like 1

Thank you for your welcome.
The Buick is in a good condition. The underbody is only provided with a beeswax layer as underbody protection and I have not discovered any rust there (I still have to take some photos and post here). Nevertheless, there are of course some tasks I have to do. I got a shop manual with the purchase and read again and again in the topics to bring my knowledge in order.

I renewed all the fluids and oils, filled the steering gear and also greased all the moving parts with lubricant, except the oil of the rear axle. I still have to check the oil level of the rear axle.